The EucoHIV project is managed by a Steering Committee composed of members from EuResist and ESAR. The Steering Committee formulated the project proposal and is responsible for the Governance of the Study. Each member of the Committee leads one of eight Work Packages.

The Steering Committee has approached scientists and clinicians across Europe to join this initiative and welcomes further offers of collaboration. Participants that submit data or are otherwise engaged in recognised roles become members of the EucoHIVStudy Group.

Steering committee

The European HIV Coreceptor Study Panel (EUCOHIV) is managed by a Steering Committee.

  • Charles Boucher

  • Anna Maria Geretti

  • Rolf Kaiser

  • Thomas Lengauer

  • Anne-Mieke Vandamme

  • Maurizio Zazzi

Work Packages

Work Package 1: Project Coordination
Francesca Incardona
EuResist / Italy

Work Package 2: Database running and maintenance
Eugen Schulter
University of Cologne / Germany

Tamar Lavee
IBM Haifa / Israel

Work Package 3: Data collection

Anna Maria Geretti
University of Liverpool / United Kingdom

Work Package 4: Geno2pheno algorithm

Thomas Lengauer
Max Planck Institute for Informatics / Germany

Rolf Kaiser
University of Cologne / Germany

Nico Pfeifer
Max Planck Institute for Informatics/ Germany

Alexander Thielen
Max Planck Institute for Informatics / Germany

Work Package 5: Quality assurance for gp120 sequencing

Rolf Kaiser
University of Cologne / Germany

Work Package 6: Research proposals

Maurizio Zazzi
University of Siena / Italy

Work Package 7: Training and Dissemination

Charles Boucher
European Society for translational Antiviral Research 

Annemarie Wensing
European Society for translational Antiviral Research

Antoinet van Kessel
European Society for translational Antiviral Research

Work Package 8: Phylogenetic tools

Anne-Mieke Vandamme
University of Leuven / Belgium

Pieter Libin
University of Leuven / Belgium

Philippe Lemey
University of Leuven / Belgium

Study group


Chelsea & Westminster Hospital
London, United Kingdom
PI: Dr Mark Nelson
Study Group: Dr. Shin Yee Luk & Dr. Eleni Nastouli

Hospital Univesitario San Cecilio
Granada, Spain
PI: Dr. Federico Garcia
Study Group: Natalia Chueca, Marta Alvarez & Vicente Guillot

University of Nantes
Nantes, France
PI: Prof François Raffi
Study Group: Clotilde Allavena, Véronique Reliquet, Solène Pineau

IrsiCaixa Institute for AIDS Research

Hospital Universitari Germans Trias i Pujol
Badalona, Catalonia, Spain
PI: Dr Roger Paredes
Study group: Isabel Bravo and Rocío Bellido

North Middlesex University Hospital
London, UK
PI: Dr Jonathan Ainsworth
Study Group: Ms Anele Waters, Dr Achim Swenck

Guide Clinic, St. James's Hospital
Dublin, Ireland
PI: Dr. Fiona Mulcahy
Study group: Ms Siobhan O Dea

PZB Aachen
Aachen, Germany
PI: Dr Patrick Braun
Study group: Dr Heribert Knechten

Royal Liverpool University Hospital
Liverpool, United Kingdom
PI: Anna Maria Geretti
Study group: Ms Rachael Jones

Royal Free Hampstead NHS Foundation Trust
London, United Kingdom
PIs: Dr Daniel Webster and Prof Margaret Johnson
Study Group: Dr Ana Garcia

University Hospitals Leuven
Leuven, Belgium
PI: Prof Anne-Mieke Vandamme
Study Group: Dr Kristel Van Laethem

King's College Hospital
London, United Kingdom
PI: Dr Frank Post
Study Group: Dr Sudhanva Malur

Hospital de la Victoria
Malaga, Spain
PI: Dr Isabel Viciana
Study Group: Mrs Carmen González

Carlos III Hospital
Madrid, Spain
PI: Vicente Soriano
Study Group: Carmen de Mendoza, Rocio Sierra

Western General Hospital
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
PI: Prof Clifford Leen
Study Group: Ms Sheila Morris

St Mary's Hospital
Imperial Healthcare, London, UK
PI: Dr Nicola Mackie
Study Group: Drs Steve Keye, Jonathan Underwood, Borja Mora Peris, Jaime Vera, Killian Quinn

Luigi Sacco University of Milan, Italy
PI: Dr Stefano Rusconi
Study Group: Drs Paola Meraviglia, Valeria Micheli, Alessandro Mancon, Davide Mileto

Birmingham Heartlands Hospital, Birmingham, UK
PI: Dr Steve Taylor
Study Group: Dr Erasmus Smit, Justin Barnes

Institute of Infectious Diseases, University of Sassari
PI: Dr Giordano Madeddu

Ospedale Amedeo di Savoia, Torino, Italy
PI: Dr Letizia Marinaro
Study Group: Dr Stefano Bonora

Ghent University Hospital, Belgium
PI: Dr Linos Vandekerckhove
Study Group: Chris Verhofstede

Centre de Recherche Public de la Santé (CRP-Santé), Luxembourg
PI: Dr Carole Devaux


The European Society for translational Antiviral Research (ESAR) aims to unite scientists and clinicians throughout Europe to expand knowledge on resistant viruses and to investigate the molecular epidemiology of drug-resistant viruses in Europe from Public Health and scientific perspectives.


ESAR will act as a collaborative network for scientific studies, quality control, guidelines and training activities.In particular the society aims to:

  • Improving the knowledge of resistant viruses, particularly as it relates to the diagnosis and management of drug resistance, their pathogenesis, natural history of spread and prevention; 

  • Improving diagnostic methods;

  • Keeping and improving high standards in laboratory diagnosis of resistant viruses through promotion of quality assessment (QA) activities and education;

  • Facilitating the exchange of reference reagents;

  • Interaction with relevant organisations, such as other virological societies and groups and between members. 


ESAR performs the SPREAD programme in which virological reference centers from over >30 European countries are studying the appearance, spread, virological determinants and clinical consequences of HIV resistance under joint standards linked to a common shared self-sustainable database.


ESAR is the successor of the European Commission supported LSHP-CT-2006-518211 EuropeHIVResistance network. To become a member of ESAR please send send an e-mail to Antoinet van Kessel via

EuResist Network
EuResist Network

The EuResist Network GEIE is a non profit partnership active in the field of infectious diseases.
Born from the EuResist EU research project, EuResist Network is continuously expanding with new partners in Europe and in the world. Partnership is based on mutual scientific collaboration and data sharing.

The EuResist Network participates in several research projects and studies and manages:

  1. The EuResist Integrated Data Base (EIDB), among the largest available databases of HIV genotypes and clinical response to antiretroviral therapy, with around 60.000 patient's.

  2. The EuResist Satellite DB (EsaDB), a free tool for management of HIV patients data running locally on a PC.

  3. The EuResist treatment response prediction engine, a data-driven system which predicts the response to combination drug therapy for a patient with a given viral genotype with an accuracy around 77%. 


EuResist won the prestigious Computerworld Honors 2009 Award.


EucoHIV has been funded by an unrestricted educational grant by ViiV Healthcare in 2011. The company does not have a role in deciding the strategy or execution of the project. EUCOHIV activities – as aggregate data – will be periodically reported to ViiV.